top of page


The BMP Location Recording Prize is awarded annually for the most outstanding location recording made by a second year student on the world renowned Tonmeister® course at the University of Surrey.

The course is unique in the UK, blending rigorous musical study, advanced investigation of audio engineering, and mastery of sound recording practice. The programme enjoys a superb reputation within, the industry. One-year professional training placements prepare students for roles in industry. Surrey was named University of the Year for Graduate Employment in The Times / Sunday Times Good University Guide 2022

The BMP Prize is presented each June with other prestigious awards including the AMS-Neve Portfolio Prize, the Dave Fisher Prize for Classical Recording and the Jim Abbiss Pop Recording Prize.

Winners of the BMP Location Recording Prize since its inception in 2016:

2016 Michael Gerrard

2017 Ewan Vickery

2018 Tom Addison

2019 Joshua Leigh

2020 Mimi Hemchaoui 

2022 Abbie Sarginson

2023 Benjamin Thorn

Benjamin Thorn, winner of the 2023 BMP Prize for Location Recording
Ben Thorn BMP 2023.jpeg
bottom of page